I’m happy

Internships

I was wondering if the Eastman House offers any summer internships, and if so, how to go about applying for them.
1 person has
this question
+1
Reply
  • Hi Rachel,
    Thanks for your interest in George Eastman House! Unfortunately, we do not have a central employee or department for you to reference for internship information.

    Every department within the Museum has an individual policy and need for interns. All internship positions are unpaid. What area of our Museum most interests you? What are you currently studying in school? Where?

    If you give me some more details I can direct you to a specific department within the Museum, and then you can find out whether they offer an internship and/or have spots open for this summer.

    -Jenna
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • I’m confident
    Hmm. Well we definitely have a lot of archives here; the photography, motion picture, technology, and George Eastman's Legacy archives as well as our Library.

    I would suggest starting with the Eastman Legacy collection; the curator, Kathy Connor, has an active internship program and is also an associate professor of museum studies at a local college. Sounds like your general studies area would fit best there. You can email Kathy at kconnor@geh.org or simply mail your resume and cover letter to her attention:

    Attn: Kathy Connor
    900 East Avenue
    Rochester, NY 14607

    Good luck!

    -Jenna
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • Joe's response:

    There are no paid internships available at the George Eastman House.

    Both the Motion Picture Department and the Photography Collection have related training programs with students during the academic year and so are usually well staffed with interns from these programs during the year and in summer.

    However, from time to time, including summers, individuals do receive supervision and guidance in working on a focused project in the various departments of the museum. These opportunities for experience are provided based on the needs of the department, the availability of staff to provide some structure and guidance to the volunteer/intern, and not the least of all, the abilities, interest, and motivation of the individual seeking this experience. Therefore, it is recommended that any interested person contact directly the Department(s) that would provide the most useful experience. A letter briefly outlining the interests and goals of the applicant is requested. A resume is not required, but may be included. The resume should not substitute for the personal letter with a statement of interest and intent.

    Following are the names of contact persons in the various departments of the museum. All correspondence should be sent to the appropriate individual at George Eastman House, 900 East Avenue, Rochester, NY 14607.

    Best Wishes,
    Joe R. Struble
    Archivist
    Photo Collection

    Education Dept.: Roxanna Aparicio Wolf roxana@geh.org
    Museum Shop: Peter Briggs pbriggs@geh.org
    Registrar: Wataru Okada wokada@geh.org
    George Eastman Legacy Collection (life of George Eastman and early history of Kodak): Kathy Connor kconnor@geh.org
    Landscape/Gardens: Amy Kinsey akinsey@geh.org
    Studio: Barbara Galasso images@geh.org
    Creative Services/Exhibitions: Juliana Muniz jmuniz@geh.org
    Technology Collection: Todd Gustavson tgustavson@geh.org
    Conservation Dept.: Taina Meller tmeller@geh.org
    Library: Rachel Stuhlman rstuhlman@geh.org
    Motion Pictures: Caroline Yeager cyeager@geh.org
    Photography Collection: Joe Struble jstruble@geh.org
    Curatorial: Jamie Allen jallen@geh.org
    Public Relations: Eliza Koslowski ekozlowski@geh.org

    Joe R. Struble
    Archivist
    Photo Collection
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited

  • Who do I contact to apply for the video and media internship listed on the site?
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned

  • http://www.eastmanhouse.org/get-invol...

    the name Lisa Kribs-LaPierre is right there and directly below her name is a button to click for the application and “further information
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned